An update

I have become a person that makes their bed on a daily basis.

Let me back up a minute. Because, you know, it’s been a minute since I posted. 😉

Last October the boy forwarded me an email from one of the senior managers encouraging him to apply for a position at a location in the state to the north of us. The position would mean a promotion for the boy. The position would mean relocating for both of us. So he sends me this email and says “Don’t read too much into it.”

You know what happens next right?

He interviews in December. He gets the job. He starts in January.

So. We are moving. We are moving…

Moving away from the only place that has ever felt like home. The place I fought 5 years before to get back to. Leaving our friends, our families…But, I tell myself, it will take time. TIME! I will surely be here until summer getting the houses sold and details organized.

Yeah, except my house sold in 4 days and his in 12 hours.

By March my small town gets smaller. We close on the sale of both our homes on a Thursday and on our new acreage on Friday.

And immediately rip all the flooring out and begin a mini remodel. We lived in the apartment (which neither of us had done in well over 10 years) that the boy lived in starting in January. We worked day and night on the house while working all day. I would be at the new house at 6:30/7 a.m. and paint until 8/8:30 a.m. Work, take lunch to paint some more, finish work and keep painting. Change out hardware.All the while the flooring guys are installing our new hardwoods, carpet and bathroom flooring. The boy and various friends who came to visit worked on new lighting fixtures, refinishing the garage floor etc.

It was exhausting.

Before.

Glimpse at the after.

Our place is starting to feel like home. We love our acreage. We are still working to find our “home” within the community but have met the nicest, kindest people.

And the making the bed thing? Yeah, ever since moving into this house I make the bed daily. Not perfectly. But it’s made. Throw pillows placed. What the? I mean, I don’t even like people who make their bed. Why would you make a bed you are just crawling back into?

Even I can’t answer that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An update

  1. Jolene says:

    congrats on the move and all renovations!! I do love my bed made daily, I must confess. total shocker, right?

Leave a Reply

